CEC Workgroups

Workgroups are established by the Board of Directors and are assigned a specific charge and outcomes to be completed within a designated period of time. Workgroup members have knowledge, skills, and expertise in a particular area of strategic importance to the Council. The workgroup chair reports to the Board of Directors.

Governance Assessment Workgroup


1. Analyze the size, composition, and charges of CEC’s Board of Directors, committees (standing and non-standing), and advisory groups and make recommendations to address inefficiencies, if any, and incorporate best practices from the field of association management;
2. Develop systems or policies to facilitate adaptability and promote innovation within CEC’s committees, workgroups and advisory groups; and 
3. Establish a process for on-going review of CEC’s governance structure(s).

James P. Heiden, Chair

Robin Brewer

Christy Chambers

Denise Drinkwalter

Mikki Garcia

Margaret McLaughlin

Jane Quenneville

Laurie VanderPloeg

Learn more about the workgroup from Special Education Today.

Contact the workgroup staff liaison (Sharon Rodriguez) with questions or for more information.

Maltreatment Policy Statement Workgroup

Charge: Develop a policy statement on the issue of maltreatment of individuals with exceptionalities. The policy statement would be used as a source document to inform and guide resources and materials developed by CEC and its divisions and units, in the area of maltreatment of children with exceptionalities.

Catherine Corr, Chair

Other members of the workgroup are being appointed. 

Contact the workgroup staff liaison (Deb Ziegler) with questions or for more information.

Standards Development Workgroup

As a Specialized Professional Association within the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), CEC must review and revise its Professional Preparation standards every 7 years. CEC’s revised standards are due for CAEP review/approval in June, 2019.

Charge: Review & revise CEC standards according to the parameters and timeframe prescribed by CAEP to all contributing Specialized Professional Associations (SPAs). Revisions to the CEC standards will be based on CAEP guidelines, evidence-based literature and practices within special education, the recommendations developed by the Framing Paper Workgroup (approved by the CEC Board in 2017) and on public feedback throughout the revision process.

Dee Berlinghoff, Co-Chair

Virginia McLaughin, Co-Chair

Terese Aceves 

Rachelle Bruno 

Ginevra Courtade                                           

Theresa Garfield             

Shannon Gromley-Budin

John Johnston

Mary Little         

James McLeskey

Alba Ortiz

Kevin Rubenstein

Vicki Stayton

Learn more about the workgroup. 

Contact the workgroup staff liaison (Jennifer Bullock) with questions or for more information.

State of the Profession Workgroup

The purpose of this study is to provide a current snapshot of the state of the profession which will serve as a
data-based foundation for CEC’s leadership activities. This foundation will: establish a baseline and allow us to build trend lines to monitor change; allow us to make data-based decisions on policy, program, and professional development initiatives; and provide support for initiatives aimed at improving outcomes for individuals with disabilities, including those who are twice exceptional, their families, and the professionals who serve them.

 Steering Team Design Team  Advisory Team 
 Bill Bogdan Bill Bogdan    Charlotte Brickhouse
 Mary Ruth Coleman Mary Lynn Boscardin  Megan Elam
 Susan Fowler  Kelly Carrero  Concetta Lewis
 Alex Graham, Executive Director  Mary Ruth Coleman  Julie Norflus-Good
 Judy Harrison, Director of Membership  Susan Fowler  Cindy Perras
   Mikki Garcia, CEC President   Vicky Spencer
 CEC-PD Response Panel  Joan McDonald  Benjamin Tillotson
 Pam Gillet  Gloria Taradash  
 Linda Marsal  Paul Zinni  
   Alex Graham  
   Judy Harrison  

Contact the workgroup staff liaison (Judy Harrison) with questions or for more information.