CEC Workgroups

Workgroups are established by the Board of Directors and are assigned a specific charge and outcomes to be completed within a designated period of time. Workgroup members have knowledge, skills, and expertise in a particular area of strategic importance to the Council. The workgroup chair reports to the Board of Directors.

Standards Development Workgroup

As a Specialized Professional Association within the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), CEC must review and revise its Professional Preparation standards every 7 years. CEC’s revised standards are due for CAEP review/approval in June, 2019.

Charge: Review & revise CEC standards according to the parameters and timeframe prescribed by CAEP to all contributing Specialized Professional Associations (SPAs). Revisions to the CEC standards will be based on CAEP guidelines, evidence-based literature and practices within special education, the recommendations developed by the Framing Paper Workgroup (approved by the CEC Board in 2017) and on public feedback throughout the revision process.

Dee Berlinghoff, Co-Chair
Virginia McLaughin, Co-Chair
Terese Aceves 
Rachelle Bruno 
Ginevra Courtade                                           
Theresa Garfield             
Shannon Gromley-Budin
John Johnston
Mary Little         
James McLeskey
Alba Ortiz
Kevin Rubenstein
Vicki Stayton

Learn more about the workgroup. 

Contact the workgroup staff liaison with questions or for more information.