CEC Committees

CEC committees are responsible for advising the Board of Directors in their particular areas and/or execution of specific activities/programs. All committees report to the Board of Directors.

Opportunities to apply for a committee occur throughout the year based upon their operating cycle. If you are interested in serving on a committee, you can find more information here.

Standing Committees

Finance and Audit Standing Committee

The Finance and Audit Standing Committee addresses the financial stability of CEC and recommends to the Board of Directors the action to be taken on the annual program plan and budget. Other duties relate to the review of financial policies. The Committee is chaired by the Treasurer. The President Elect also serves as a member of the committee.

Yvonne Bui, Chair (CEC Treasurer)

Dennis Cavitt (President Elect)

Julie Bost

April Miller

Cindi Nixon

Laura Nugent

Jane Quenneville

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

Leadership Development Committee

Purpose: Identify, nurture and develop leadership potential and skills in emerging leaders. Duties include: intentionally identifying, cultivating, recruiting, and orienting, a well-qualified and diverse pipeline of volunteer leaders for board and committee positions that are responsive to the current and future needs of CEC. The Immediate Past President is an ex-officio, non-voting member of the LDC.

Mikki Garcia, Ed.D. Chair 
Consultant, JEM Educational, Melbourne, FL

Anna M. Adl, M.S. 
Diagnostician/New Teacher Induction Coordinator, School District of Cudahy, Cudahy, WI

Sheila B. Bailey, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Virginia Council of Administrators of Special Education, Prince George, VA

Robin D. Brewer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, CO

William K. Bogdan, Ed.D.
Leadership Consultant, Cincinnati, OH

Maureen O’Leary Burness, M.S.
Special Education Leadership Consultant and Technical Assistance Facilitator, Sacramento, CA

Marilyn Friend, Ph.D.
President of Marilyn Friend, Inc. (consulting and publishing) and Professor Emerita, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Washington, DC 

Kelly J. Grillo, Ph.D.
Literacy Coach, Lafayette, IN

Gloria Niles, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Special Education, University of Hawaii West Oahu, Kapolei, HI

Zachary Walker, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, University College London Institute of Education, London, England

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

Advisory Committees

Honors Committee

The Honors Committee selects the recipients of the CEC Professional Awards. The Honors Committee also periodically reviews the CEC Awards program and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors for enhancements.

Kat Boisvert, Chair

Janet DeSimone

David Hampton

Antonis Katsiyannis

Megan McMillan

Anne Rose

Sandy Shacklady-White


Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

Policy Steering Committee

The purposes of the Policy Steering Committee are to: 

  • Develop recommendations for consideration by CEC’s Board of Directors with regard to special education legislative and regulatory issues at the national, state and local levels. 
  • Assist CEC in developing policy and position statements in a timely manner.
  • Contribute to the development of advocacy campaigns.
  • Monitor and advance issues related to the practice of special education.
  • Support CEC’s members, divisions, and units in advocating for legislation supporting professionals serving students with exceptionalities.
Margaret McLaughlin Chair, Professor and Special Assistant to the Dean, University of Maryland – College Park Shawn Bernard Assistant Director of Secondary Special Education, Anchorage (AK) School District
Concetta Lewis
Executive Director of Special Education, Rochester Community Schools, Southfield, MI
Nate Marsden
Training Specialist, Star Autism Support, American Fork, UT
Loretta Mason-Williams
Associate Professor, Binghamton University, Binghamton, NY

Kevin Rubenstein
Director of Student Services, Technology, & Assessment, Lake Bluff Elementary School District 65, Lake Bluff, IL
CEC President Elect, Dennis Cavitt
Assistant Professor, Midwestern State University, Wichita Falls, TX (ex officio, non-voting)

Learn more about CEC's Policy & Advocacy work.

Contact the committee staff liaison.

Professional Standards and Practice Committee

The Professional Standards and Practice Committee studies the area of practice standards and advises the Board of Directors regarding CEC professional policies and activities. Other duties include the development of guidelines and materials to assist the field in meeting the Council’s professional standards.   

Theresa Garfield, Chair
Tammy Barron
Toni Franklikn
Theresa Garfield
Kharon Grimmet
Richard Henderson
Maria Peterson-Ahmad
Michelle Powers

Learn more about CEC's professional standards work.

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.             

Representative Assembly Committee

The Representative Assembly Committee advises the presiding officer of the Representative Assembly (the CEC President) on procedures, formats, and field-based issues for Assembly meeting discussions or online input opportunities. Other duties include approval of Assembly meeting minutes, conducting orientations and online discussions, and determining eligibility for courtesy resolutions.

Jen Katz-Borrin, Chair
Kelly Carrero

Ben Hicks
Kathryn Kreiser
Emilie Maule
Cheryl Wold

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.           

Student and Early Career Committee

Purposes: (1) advise the Board of Directors on ways to recruit, mentor, and support individuals entering the profession, especially those from diverse backgrounds; (2) advise the Board of Directors on ways to enhance the experience of student and early-career CEC members and encourage their transition to a full-dues-paying membership; (3) determine from nominations received the recipients of the Student Awards; (4) plan and conduct a Student and Early Career Special Educator Forum and/or other events relevant to students and early-career teachers at each Annual Convention that provide(s) opportunities for student attendees to engage with CEC in order to improve their practice, network with peers, maximize the benefits of their CEC membership and the convention experience, and (5) prepare a slate of candidates from applications received for the Student Representative to the Representative Assembly for election by the student membership.

Tracy Sinclair (Chair) 
Kelly Acosta (Student Representative to the RA)
Belkis Choisel-Praslin
Travis Cooper
Katie Lane

Jordan McMillan (Student Representative to the RA)

Carson Quillinan

Richard Williams

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.

Yes I Can Committee

The Yes I Can Committee: (1) publicizes the YIC awards to ensure outstanding entries; (2) seeks and solicits nominations; (3) evaluates the nominees for each category and select recipients; (4) plans an awards ceremony; (5) periodically reviews award categories and criteria; (6) sets sponsorship levels; (7) creates a sponsor prospectus; (8) identifies potential sponsors and donors; and (9) develops awards program marketing and communications plans.

Rebecca Hines, Chair
Karen Holland
Kimberly Krug
Samantha Riggleman
Rebecca Shahrivar
Katherine Squires

John Wright

Contact the committee staff liaison with questions or for more information.