2018 Board of Directors

 Officers

vanderploeglauriebwcropped
  Laurie VanderPloeg
2018 President

Director of Special Education 
Kent Intermediate School District (Kent ISD)
Grand Rapids, MI
president@cec.sped.org

 boscardinmarylynnbw cropped   Mary Lynn Boscardin
2018 President Elect
Professor
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA
mlboso@umass.edu
Garcia BW
  Mikki Garcia
2018 Immediate Past President
Educational Consultant
JEM Educational
Midway, GA 
mikkigar21@yahoo.com


McCormick BW
  Jim McCormick
Treasurer, 2017-2019
CEO
Independent Living Center of Eastern Indiana
Richmond, IN
jimm@ilcein.org 
 Alex Headshot BW Cropped   Alexander T. Graham
Secretary (Non-Voting)

Executive Director
Council for Exceptional Children
agraham@cec.sped.org

   

 Members

 AcevesTeresaPixBW   Terese "Tisa" Aceves
Member-at-Large, Diverse Ethnic and 
Multicultural Groups, 
2018-2020
Professor
Loyola Marymount University
Los Angeles, CA
taceves@cec.sped.org

 BalonSmith BW
 

Linda Balon-Smith
Member-at-Large, Canada, 2017-2019
Special Education Resource Teacher
Warman Community Middle School
Warman, Saskatchewan
linda.balon-smith@spiritsd.ca

Bost BW
 

Julie Irene Bost
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated, 2017-2019
Program Specialist for Exceptional Children
Alamance-Burlington Schools
Burlington, NC
julie_bost@abss.k12.nc.us


 CavittDennisPixBW   Dennis Cavitt
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated, 2018-2019
Assistant Professor
Abilene Christian University
Abilene, TX
dennis.cavitt@acu.edu


CdeBaca BW
 

Rafael S. CdeBaca, Jr.
Member-at-Large, Diverse Ethnic and 
Multicultural Groups, 
2017-2019
Special Education Instructional Coordinator
Nampa School District #131
Nampa, Idaho
rcdebaca@nsd131.org



 Hong BW   Barbara Hong
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated, 2017-2019
Associate Professor/Program Coordinator
of Special Education 
Brigham Young University, Hawaii
Laie, HI
barbara.hong@byuh.edu
 JasperAndreaBW   Andrea "Angie" Jasper
Member-at-Large, Diverse Ethnic and 
Multicultural Groups, 2016-2018
Associate Professor
Central Michigan University
Mount Pleasant, MI
andreaj@cec.sped.org
 KovachDanillePixBW   Danielle M. Kovach
Member-at-Large, Classroom Ranks,
2018-2020
Special Education Teacher
Tulsa Trail Elementary School
Hopatcong, New Jersey
dkovach@cec.sped.org

 Lesh BW   Jennifer J. Lesh
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated, 
2016-2018
Associate Professor
Lynn University
Boca Raton, FL
jenniferl@cec.sped.org

 Moffett BW   Kimberly Moffett
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated,
2017-2019
Associate Professor
Lee University
Spring City, TN
kmoffett@leeuniversity.edu
Morgan BW
  Alexis K. Morgan
Student Member, 
2017-2018
Doctoral Candidate, Education Leadership
Harvard Graduate School of Education
Cambridge, MA
akm555@mail.harvard.edu

MoralesDianaPixBW
  Diana Morales
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated, 2018-2020
Curriculum Support Specialist
Florida Diagnostic Learning & Resources System-South
South Miami, Fl
dmorales.13@hotmail.com

 STOUT JonathanBW2   Jonathan "Woody" Stout
Member-at-Large, Diverse Ethnic and 
Multicultural Groups, 2016-2018
Assistant Professor
Lock Haven University
Lock Haven, PA 
jstout1@lhup.edu
 WongLo BW   Mickie Wong-Lo
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated, 2018-2020
Associate Professor
Biola University
La Mirada, CA
mickie.wong-lo@biola.edu
 yellmitchellpixbwcropped   Mitch Yell
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated, 
2018-2020
Fred and Francis Lester Palmetto Chair
of Teacher Education
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC
myell@sc.edu



 ZinniPaulPixBW   Paul Zinni
Member-at-Large, Non-Designated, 
2018-2020
Superintendent of Schools
Avon Public Schools
Avon, MA
paulzinni@gmail.com