1922 The International Council for the Education of Exceptional Children is organized by a group of administrators and supervisors attending the summer session at Teachers College, Columbia University, and their faculty members on August 10, 1922. The Council begins with 12 members. Elizabeth E. Farrell was the Founder and first President, 1922 26.
1923 First annual meeting held in Cleveland, Ohio.
1924 CEC affiliates with the National Education Association.
1941 A merger with the Special Education Department of the NEA resulted in CEC's becoming a department of the National Education Association.
1942 Journal of Exceptional Children (renamed Exceptional Children in 1951) becomes property of CEC.
1947 Constitution amended to provide for establishment of federations.
1953 Constitution revised to provide for divisions.
1958 CEC renamed The Council for Exceptional Children. Committee on Canadian Affairs established, later called the CEC Canadian Committee (1968), then the Canadian Council for Exceptional Children (1979).
1963 J.E. Wallace Wallin Special Education Lifetime Achievement Award established; first awarded to Harley Z. Wooden (1964).
1964 CEC Outstanding Public Service Award initiated.
1965 Student CEC authorized; Sidney Stowe, Texas Women's University, is elected the first SCEC president.
1966 CEC receives U.S. Office of Education grant to operate the ERIC Clearinghouse on Exceptional Children.
1968-69 TEACHING Exceptional Children initiated.
1969 CEC withdrew from NEA.
1972 CEC celebrates 50th Anniversary at the 1972 Convention in Washington, DC.
1975 The Education For All Handicapped Children Act (Public Law 94-142) is passed. CEC was the principal force in bringing to the U.S. Congress the need for such a law and building the support for its passage.
1978 CEC's First World Congress on Future Special Education convenes at the University of Stirling in Stirling, Scotland, with over 2,000 participants from 39 countries.
1980 Delegate Assembly authorized divisions to organize and operate subdivisions.
1984 Clarissa Hug Teacher of the Year Award established; first awarded to Mary-Dean Barringer (1985).
1988 CEC Outstanding Leadership Award established; first awarded to June B. Jordan and Kenneth E. Wyatt (1989).
1989 CEC Special Education Research Award established; first awarded to Melvyn I. Semmel (1991).
1992 CEC Business Award established; first awarded to Labert Machine Products Company, Somerville, New Jersey (1993).
1997 CEC celebrates 75th Anniversary at the 1997 convention in Salt Lake City, Utah.
1998 Commission established to improve special education teaching conditions.
2000 CEC released report on special education teaching conditions, "Bright Futures," which received national media attention. CEC adopted new governance structure: a Board of Directors, elected by the membership; and a Representative Assembly.
2001 First member-wide election for CEC officers.
2002 CEC celebrates 80th Anniversary at the 2002 Convention in New York, New York.
2003 CEC produces policy stating that all students with disabilities should be included in assessment and accountability systems.
2004 CEC helps guide Congress in the reauthorization of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 2004.
2008 CEC Board of Directors adopts new Core Values, Mission, and Vision.
2009 CEC achieves a significant victory in its long-time quest for full funding of IDEA; Congress passes and President Obama signs the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, which includes an historic increase in IDEA funding, creating unprecedented opportunities in the field of special education.
2010 CEC Board of Directors adopts new Ethnical Principles for Special Education Professionals.
2010 Collaborated with the Division of International Special Education and Services (DISES), the International Step by Step Association (ISSA), and the Center for Education Initiatives (CEI on Embracing Inclusive Approaches for Children and Youth With Special Education Needs Conference, in Riga, Latvia.
2010 Edited new publication, Inclusion for ALL:  The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. 
2010 Successfully completed the relocation of headquarters office to Crystal City, Va. 
2011 Joined a delegation of U.S. special educators to Saudi Arabia to participate in a workshop, Improving Special Education Departments in Saudi Universities.
2011 Collaborated with the Open Society Foundations to continue to provide training and technical assistance to targeted countries to build capacity in Central and Eastern Europe, Central Asia and Western Africa 
2011  CEC Board of Directors adopts new Core Values, Mission, and Vision.
2011 Opened the Journal Gateway moving content from Exceptional Children and TEACHING Exceptional Children online, including 10 years of fully searchable issues.
2012 Celebrated CEC's 90th Anniversary at the 2012 Convention & Expo in Denver, Colo. 
2012 Released new Position on Special Education Teacher Evaluation. 
2012 Launched new CEC website.