2014 Board of Directors

robinbrewer bw President
Robin D. Brewer
Associate Professor
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, CO
robin.brewer@unco.edu


President Elect
Vacant


Immediate Past President
Christy A. Chambers
Education Consultant
Beyond the Box, LLC
McHenry, IL
beyondthebox.christy@gmail.com

Heiden Jim BW
Treasurer
James P. Heiden
Superintendent
School District of Cudahy
Cudahy, Wis.
heidenj@cudahysd.org

Members-at-Large

Baldwin Joni BW cropped
Joni L. Baldwin
Associate Professor
Coordinator Early Childhood Program
University of Dayton
Centerville, Ohio
jbaldwin1@udayton.edu
 Floyd Jannis BW Jannis V. Floyd
Associate Professor
Education and Special Education Department
Mansfield University
Mannsfield, Penn.
jfloyd@mansfield.edu

Mikki Garcia 102013 BW
Mikki Garcia
Executive Director
Exceptional Children/K-8/Middle Schools
Savannah-Chatham County Public School System
Savannah, Ga.
Mikki.Garcia@savannah.chatham.k12.ga.us
JohnHess  

John H. Hess
Consultant, Special Education
Associate, Cross & Joftus, Education Strategies for Success
Brea, Calif.
jhhiu@sbcglobal.net

 LauralJackson (2)

Laural Jackson
Assistant Superintendent
Special Education/504 Director
Delta/Greely School District
Delta Junction, Alaska
ljackson@dgsd.k12.ak.us

katsiyannis bw

Antonis Katsiyannis
Alumni Distinguished Professor
Special Education
Clemson University
Clemson, S.C.
antonis@clemson.edu

 Deborahmetcalf

Deborah "Debbie" Metcalf
Teacher-in-Residence
Department of Curriculum and Instruction
College of Education 
East Carolina University/Pitt County Schools
Greenville, N.C.
metcalfd@ecu.edu

schultz bw
Edward Schultz
Assistant Professor
Midwestern State University
Wichita Falls, Texas
edward.schultz@mwsu.edu
 Van Horn George BW George Van Horn
Director of Special Education
Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation
Columbus, Ind.
vanhorng@bcsc.k12.in.us
Sloboda Anne BW
Member-at-Large, Canada
Anne Sloboda
Superintendent of Learning
Horizon School Division #205
Saskatoon, Sask. 
annesloboda@gmail.com
sacco bw
Member-at-Large, Classroom Ranks
Donna Sacco
Special Education Doctoral Student
George Mason University
Doctoral Fellowship, Project ASCEND Leadership Grant
Research Assistant, Project WEGOTIT
Arlington, Va.
donna.sacco@apsva.us

Members-at-Large, Diverse Ethnic and Multicultural Groups

annettegaitan   

Annette Gaitan
Educational Consultant
Educational Design Solutions
Kansas City, Kan.
agaitan@educationaldesignsolutions.com

 Rinaldi Claudia BW Claudia Rinaldi
Assistant Director
Urban Special Education Leadership Collaborative
Education Development Center, Inc.
Waltham, Mass.
crinaldi@edc.org

scottsparks

Scott Sparks
Professor, Ohio University
Athens, Ohio
sparks@ohio.edu

Mickie_WongLo bw
Mickie Wong-Lo
Assistant Professor
Northeastern Illinois University
Chicago, Ill.
M-Wong-Lo@neiu.edu

 


Student Member

 benjaminwhite

Benjamin White
Elementary Education, Eastern Michigan University
Substitute Paraprofessional
Plymouth Canton Community Schools
Plymouth, Mich.
bwhite25@emich.edu

Secretary

 
Graham Alex BW
Alexander T. Graham
Executive Director
Council for Exceptional Children
agraham@cec.sped.org

CEC’s Board of Directors is the organization’s administrative, general legislative, and policy making body. The Board of Directors establishes strategic direction for CEC, addresses issues of concern, and sets policy.

The CEC Board of Directors is composed of four officers (President, President Elect, Immediate Past President, and Treasurer); 15 members-at-large (four from diverse ethnic and multicultural groups; one from the classroom ranks; one from Canada; and nine non-designated); and one Student Member. In addition, the CEC Executive Director serves as a non-voting member of the Board.

2014 Board of Directors Meeting Dates:

  • January 24, 25, 26 - CEC Headquarters, Arlington, Va.
  • April 8, 9 - CEC Convention & Expo, Philadelphia, Penn.
  • June 24, 25 - CEC Headquarters, Arlington, Va.
  • October 3, 4, 5 - CEC Headquarters, Arlington, Va.