CEC Professional Awards

The nominations cycle for the CEC 2015 Professional Awards is now closed. Winners will be selected in January 2015.

The CEC Professional Awards give us a unique opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of our colleagues. Through these awards, we recognize the special educators who have advanced the field and the quality of special education service, as well as CEC members whose contributions have moved the Council forward in significant ways. 

2014 Professional Award Recipients

Ann Kaiser

The CEC J.E. Wallace Wallin Lifetime Achievement Award

Ann Kaiser, Susan W. Gray Professor of Education and Human Development, Peabody College; Professor, Department of Special Education, Peabody College, Vanderbilt University.

This award recognizes an individual who has made continued and sustained contributions to the education of children and youth with exceptionalities. 

Danielle Kovach photo

The Clarissa Hug Teacher of the Year Award

Danielle Kovach, Special Education Teacher, Tulsa Trail Elementary School, Hopoatcong Board of Education.

This award honors a CEC member who currently provides direct services to students with exceptionalities and whose work exemplifies the best in special education teaching.

Kathleen Lane

The CEC Special Education Research Award

Kathleen Lane, Co-Director, Center for Research on Learning; 2012 Professor; Department of Special Education, University of Kansas.

This award recognizes an individual or research team whose research has made significant contributions to the education of children and youth with exceptionalities.

Susan Johnsen photo

The Outstanding CEC Leadership Award

Susan Johnsen, Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, Baylor University.

This award honors a CEC member who has made significant contributions to the Council’s programs and activities at the local, state/provincial and national/international level over an extended period of time.

Professional and Student Award Recipients Archive


Nominations for CEC's 2015 Professional Awards are now closed.

CEC's Professional nominations are due in October each year, with nominees and nominators notified of the results in early January. Award recipients are recognized at the CEC Convention & Expo Opening General Session.


Please address any inquiries about the CEC Professional Awards to Megan Jones at meganj@cec.sped.org.